Unblemished by Sara Ella

 

unblemishedTJ Burns — October 25, 2016

5_Star_Rating_System_3_and_a_half_stars

I found Unblemished gripping right from the start! Exciting and mysterious. I loved the writing style! I was very impressed with all the music metaphors… colorful! I also liked the switchbacks between memories and current action. I immediately began to ask questions and dig for answers. My quest led me into quite an exciting new world(s).

Eliyana’s narration is fun, sparkled with musical metaphors and fun NYC references.

“My crawl onto her silky back is slower than service at McDonald’s in Times Square on New Year’s.”

“A stranger just smiled at me. Definitely not New York.”

But then somehow, in the blink of an eye, Eliyana takes on the phraseology and references of the new world, which I found more than a bit annoying. How does a teenager who grew up in NYC suddenly start thinking and blurting out phrases like:

Not that I wouldn’t love to know what in the Reflections mirrorglass is, but there are more pressing questions on my mind…

“Like the Void you thought I knew.”

How in the Void did El pick up such terms? I didn’t hear anyone else using them, although that would actually make more sense. Someone who lived with the “Reflections” and “Void” would use such terms, but not a NYC teenager. So what in the Reflections was the author thinking?!

And then there’s the love triangle. Ahhh, the love triangle.
Not even half way into the story I was so over hearing about El’s “love affair” (infatuation) with Joshua, the development of which I didn’t experience (until some brief flashbacks are offered towards the end) and in which I had zero interest. I wasn’t given enough information about their relationship to have any stake in it at all. I’m guessing that’s the point. El is only 17 and I guess I was just supposed to tolerate her obsessing about her very first infatuation (over and over and over!).

I expect that we, the readers, were supposed to get sick of El’s infatuation, so much so that a space could open up in our hearts for Ky, who I suspect is the real love interest. If that was the author’s purpose, then kudos! I quickly became absolutely and unequivocally sick and tired of El’s obsession with Joshua.

Eliyana’s actions and decisions became a source of frustration for me in the second half as well. When she had the opportunity to get answers from Ky, she flat out refused to hear him out. And then her total misreading of what she needs to do so that her mother can have happiness? Um… ya.

All in all, Unblemished is intriguing, exciting, and creative. I was able to make some correct predictions, but there were many surprises waiting for me. I still have many unanswered questions and I am definitely looking forward to reading the next installment, Unraveling.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Expected publication: October 11th 2016 by Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins

I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

You can find this book at:

Amazon: Unblemished by Sara Ella

Teen and Young Adult Books at Amazon

TJ Burns Goodreads Review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1752023486

This entry was posted in Fantasy/Science Fiction, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

