The Seventh Wish by Kate Messner

the-seventh-wishTJ Burns – November 5, 2016

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars

The Seventh Wish is so much more than I expected. I started reading, and immediately I was captivated by the characters. I thought it was a fun, magical middle grade story, so I went back and restarted it with my 9-year-old daughter. Soon we were both pulled into the fun, still thinking this was a light, magical story. We were inspired to watch a slew of Irish dance videos on You Tube.

And then it gets deep. And heavy. And suddenly my daughter and I were having long discussions about drug abuse, about heroine, about addiction in general, about AA meetings, about closed rehabilitation centers, about health insurance, about good parenting, about fate and destiny, about the Irish Blessing, about making your own destiny, honesty, promises, and so many more topics.

I loved the writing, I loved the characters, and the plot was amazing. (At one point I actually cried).

So clever, so captivating, and so much deeper than I expected.

Published June 7th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

I received a copy of this book from Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

You can find this book at:

Amazon: The Seventh Wish by Kate Messner

Barnes & Noble:

Teen and Young Adult Books at Amazon

TJ Burns Goodreads Review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1600469031

This entry was posted in Contemporary, Fantasy/Science Fiction, Middle Grade. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

