Just Like Me by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

just like meTJ Burns — April 24, 2016

5_Star_Rating_System_4_and_a_half_stars

Wow! Just Like Me is fantastic!

I started to read this book, looking for something to read with my daughter… but I got so caught up in the story, I couldn’t wait! I cruised right through it. I devoured it. I loved it.

The five main characters, Julia, Becca, Avery, Gina, and Vanessa, are interesting, have depth, and all experience some sort of personal growth (I leave Meredith out of this list on purpose 😉 ). Each girl has her own issues to work out and none of the characters are cliché or predictable – which adds to the brilliance of the story. Stereotypes are smashed, differences are brought to light – in some crassly dramatic ways – and commonalities are found… not just (or specifically) cultural commonalities, but human commonalities.

I wish I hadn’t read this alone. Now I need to look for someone to discuss it with. I guess I’ll just have to wait until my daughter finishes…

Wonderful!

Published April 5th 2016 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

TJ Burns Goodreads Review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1614680701

 

You can find this book at:

Amazon: Just Like Me by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

Barnes & Noble:

Teen and Young Adult Books at Amazon

This entry was posted in Middle Grade. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

