Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

illuminaeTJ Burns — January 12, 2016

5_Star_Rating_System_4_and_a_half_stars

I really enjoyed this highly suspenseful, adrenaline-pumping thrill ride!

I like the two main characters, Kady and Ezra. I can identify with both of them, individually. They both are types that I would have befriended and hung out with in college.

I also very much enjoyed the format. Getting bits and pieces of information here and there, from a multitude of different sources, appealed to my research-driven heart. The format really woke up the intel gatherer and puzzle solver in me, making the read a lot more fun.

I didn’t consider it predictable, even though I was able to predict some major elements. (I chalk it more up to a “great minds think alike” kind of a thing ;). I love that the author drops enough clues that I theoretically could predict outcomes, or at least have suspicions, but it will take a second reading to get that “ah ha!” moment.

Like Kady, I am always searching for the truth. I am sick and tired of the propaganda fed to me by governments and the main stream media. Kady is a genuine “truther” – which, any way you spin it, is a compliment.

The book brings up some very difficult dilemmas. How much “truth” can you provide the masses without causing panic?

And can you have a democracy without complete information?gemina

Should military personnel question their superiors when they are asked to do something they interpret as morally repugnant? Or is it impossible to make decisions with incomplete information?

I have much more to add to this – and hopefully will in due time. Right now I can say that I am looking forward to the next installment of this story.

What a great ride!

 

Published October 20th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

See more of TJ’s reviews at Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1287527116

You can find this book and its sequel at:

Amazon: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files) and Gemina (The Illuminae Files)

Barnes & Noble:

 

Teen and Young Adult Books at Amazon

Science Fiction and Fantasy Books at Amazon

 

Explore Barnes & Noble’s Coupons & Deals! Shop BN.com

Image | This entry was posted in Fantasy/Science Fiction, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

